Borawski, Snow Dockser, Not Running for Re-Election

After nearly seven years of service on the School Committee, including one year as chair, Jeanne Borawski announced that she will not be seeking re-election for a third term. Borawski made the announcement at the end of the December 12 School Committee meeting. Six-year School Committee member, Linda Snow Dockser also announced at the meeting that she too will not be seeking re-election to the committee. 

Borawski initially was appointed to fill a seat on the committee when it was vacated by Robert Spadafora in 2013 and was elected to her first three-year term in 2014. She was re-elected to the committee in 2017. While looking forward to the upcoming budget season, Borawski cited needing more time with her family as her reason for not running again. She expressed appreciation to the other committee members for their relationships during her years of service.  “It is the right decision for my family” Borawski stated. Snow Dockser was also elected to her first term in 2014 and was re-elected in 2017. She stated, “This is the right decision at this time. There is a lot I want to do, I cannot do everything, and I want to do it right.” Dockser did hint at the future, however, quipping, “I am keeping my [election] signs in the attic.”

There are two three-year seats and one two-year seat available on the School Committee in the upcoming local election. As of December 12, only Finance Committee member Shawn Brandt has pulled nomination papers for any of the positions. Nomination papers are available from the Town Clerk’s office during normal business hours.

The local election will be held in conjunction with the Presidential Primary on March 3 in the Hawkes Field House at the Reading Memorial High School.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email