RMHS Alumni Dr. Lisa Litterio Receives Teaching Excellence Award

Reading Memorial High School Alumna Lisa Litterio was recognized at Bridgewater State University’s Annual Awards for Academic Excellence on Monday, May 1st. Dr. Lisa Litterio, tenured Associate Professor of English, was awarded the 2023 Dr. V. James DiNardo Excellence in Teaching Award. 

Dr. Karim Ismaili, Executive Vice President and Provost, Dr. Lisa Litterio, Frederick Clark Jr., President

The University wrote: “Dr. Litterio has spent her time at Bridgewater working collaboratively within and outside of her department. With colleagues in her department, she produced workshops helping students understand the usefulness of an English degree and currently co-coordinates the first-year writing courses. Across campus, she can be seen collaborating with programs such as CUBEs, Career Services, and the College of Graduate Studies. She has held leadership positions on campus, including that of co-coordinator of Writing Across the Curriculum. 

Dr. Litterio’s teaching is often focused on real-world application of writing skills, such as grant writing, business writing, and technical writing. She extends student writing beyond the classroom, traveling with her students to sites such as the New England Holocaust Memorial, Robert Gould Shaw and the 54th Regiment Memorial, and the Black Heritage Trail. 

Her colleague and nominator wrote, ‘Dr. Litterio’s empathy and interest for students extends through her teaching and policies. She meets one-on-one with students in all of her classes…she is flexible with deadlines…and her assessment policies focus on process rather than product.’ The success of her teaching is evident in her student nominator’s letter: ‘I continue to register for her courses because she is a dedicated professor who is knowledgeable of the subject matter, cares about her students, supports students throughout the semester, and effectively teaches the subject matter [in a way] that is suitable to everyone.'”

The Bridgewater Alumni Association established this award in 1984 in honor of Dr. V. James DiNardo, executive vice president and professor emeritus. The award is presented to a full-time faculty member whose contributions include mastery of subject matter, enthusiastic teaching style and personal attention to students.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email